Flash Fiction: The Watcher

february-16

 

February 16, 2017 prompt: In 99 words (no more, no less) write a story that includes a watcher.

I watch. I wait. I report. I never intervene.

Day or night, I watch.

I watched her laugh with the barisita as she picked up her coffee. I watched her walk down the sidewalk, her bright pink coat a splash of colour in the early morning grey.

I’d watched her all of her life – in silence.

I watched as the black van turned the corner. I watched as it sped up.

I said nothing. I made no sound of warning.

I watched as they collided and as her blood turned the white snow crimson.

And I wept in silence.

 

Try the Flash Fiction Challenge yourself

 

 

4 thoughts on “Flash Fiction: The Watcher

Leave a Reply

