Finish off Fridays #8: The Summons

img_20160915_124230692_fotor

I had never been summoned to Number 208 before; I nervously adjusted my coat and hat.

With a sidelong glance I took in the menagerie at the door. Better women than I had left this place scarred, mere shadows of their former selves.

The churning in my stomach stepped up a notch. I’d been suffering acute heartburn since receiving the summons this morning.

I raised my hand to knock and the door swung open letting loose a cloud of potpourri-scented air. I struggled not to choke and walked into the fragrant interior.

“Do have a seat,” came the dulcet tones.

I looked around the pristine room. Dust would would be too terrified to settle in here. Perching on the inch of seat not occupied by an over-stuffed floral scatter cushion, I waited.

“Darling. Let’s chat about what you can do for the PTA.”

Try it for yourself

Photograph: (c) Lorraine

 

2 thoughts on “Finish off Fridays #8: The Summons

  1. Lovely — I laughed out loud at the last line. The build up was great; the ending perfection.
    Thanks so much for participating.
    PS: I quite enjoyed the tag-line to your blog title!

Leave a Reply

