Day 2: Sweet or savoury?

Sugar lovers

There are two types of people in the world. Sweet and savoury. I am sweet, but oh how I wish I were savoury. Faced with a cupcake or a quiche, there’s no question. I’ll take the cupcake.

Day 2 of this no sugar thing and I realise it doesn’t really matter, there’s sugar in everything, even if it doesn’t taste like it. My choices are severely limited.

Apparently, I’m allowed two fruit a day. So, the question is, do I eat two of the largest fruit I can or is there a requisite portion size? Is 2 dried cranberries all the sugary goodness I can eat a day?

I still feel quite manic possible due to the fact that I’m not experiencing the sugar highs and crashes. The Husband says I seem much happier, but then I offered to go to Builder’s Warehouse with him, so I don’t know how true that is.

I approached the day with gungho vigilantism and decided to make some tomato sauce from scratch.

Thanks to Keith Floyd for his fabulous recipe for Fresh Tomato Sauce with a few alterations to take into consideration the no sugar rule.

Floyd’s Fresh Tomato Sauce Fresh Tomato Sauce Paleo

  • 4 tbsp coconut oil
  • 1 finely chopped onion
  • 1 crushed garlic clove
  • 1kg tomatoes
  • 1 finely chopped red pepper
  • 1 tbsp chopped basil
  • 1/4 tsp Stevia
  • Salt and freshly ground pepper

Throw the tomatoes (and red pepper) into a blender and whiz them up. Get a very large pot. Then fry up the onion and garlic and add the tomatoes, basil, Stevia, salt and pepper. Then let it simmer on low for about an hour or longer – I left it for about 2 hours. The smell is amazing and I made enough to bottle up and keep in the fridge for later.

How did it rate with the family? 

Better than I thought. Teenager gave it a 9, Husband a 10, Preteen son took one bite and reacted with ill-concealed horror (not a fan of the tomato), Diva aged 9 gave it an 8. I gave it a 10 – but then I love tomatoes.

One thought on “Day 2: Sweet or savoury?

Leave a Reply

