Doodling along

Doodle1

Every Monday morning we have a Creative Inspiration session.

We look at art, design, sculpture, architecture, social experiments, basically we indulge ourselves in an hour of cool stuff.

This week we watched a documentary by Ivan Cash. But you know this, because I went on weird snowball analogy afterwards.

I stopped doodling on my notepad.

That is BIG!

Doodle2I never stop doodling.

I was drawing characters from the Lego Movie. It amuses me.

Anyway, I actually stopped doodling and paid attention.

That does not happen often.

Most weeks I think “Well, that sounds cool, but so what?” and go back to drawing little aliens and rocket ships in the margins.

This week I didn’t, because it was really cool.Doddle4

But the coolest thing? I got a message back from Ivan Cash this morning. Himself.

Okay, he said that we did in fact breathe the same air and I suppose technically that’s true, but I meant it as a metaphor… and oh, it doesn’t matter.

And that is why social media and the Internet is so incredible, because no matter that I live continents away and several time zones to the right I can connect with amazing people as if they were right next door.

Doodle3Okay, perhaps the next-door metaphor is a bit weak. After all, how many people even know their next-door neighbours?

I do. His name is Collin and he has a little classic red Alfa he washes every weekend, drives around the block and parks back in the garage again. You get the point.

We are more likely to connect with Ivan in San Francisco then we are with someone right in front of us, in the flesh so to speak.

Maybe, it’s because online we aren’t hung up on physical appearance so we can’t jump to conclusions?

Maybe we’re just terrified of a slap in the face?

Anyway, we shouldn’t be.

Doodle5I’m a chatterer.

I can go to the music store and meet a kid whose Dad has an exotic animal sanctuary then spend two hours with a taxi driver from the township as we discuss the music of Johnny Cash.

We’ll probably never meet again, but just thinking about them makes me smile.

And that’s really the point.

I love the fact that through this blog I’ve connected in some way with hundreds of people from all sorts of cultures and countries. It’s a heady rush.

So, you may be doing a fairly good impression of an island, but dive into the sea and swim to the next island over for a quick Mai Tai.

You might get a different view and actually like it.

Afterwards, you can swim back, lie in your hammock between two palms and contemplate your navel.

That’s good too.

PS: I’m a writer not an artist, so go easy on the art critique!

Leave a Reply

