The Daily Post: Living Art

rocket1

I heard the engines first. A delicious deep growl that sent shivers of excitement down my spine.

I’m not sure what I expected. I sure as hell did not expect to find a rocket ship in my living room.

Not just any rocket ship. My rocket ship!

It was totally awesome! And by that I mean evoking feelings of stomach churning fear and childlike wonder.

I should’ve wondered if the ship was aerodynamic and met NASA guidelines. But, seriously? It was a ROCKET SHIP!

I stopped to grab a towel, because I’m not a total idiot and jumped on board.

It was like the TARDIS. I mean way bigger on the inside. Very 70s retro.

The dashboard had big buttons labeled easy things like UP and DOWN and ON and OFF.

And a spot for an iPod.

And a cup holder for my tea.

So, I stopped off to collect a few of my favourite people.

Did a fly by my office to show off – like you wouldn’t?

And then we totally rocked the “going where no man has gone before” thing.

Yeah, so we’re currently orbiting a little planet somewhere North of the Horsehead Nebula for some R&R before our reservation at the Restaurant at the End of the Universe.

If you’re there, pop by or table and say ‘Hi!’

 

The rocket ship

The Mermaid and the Rocket This is the rocket ship of which I speak.

My kids and I each took a panel and painted it for The Husband and The Father (depending) for  his birthday a year or two back.

 

 

 The Daily Prompt is a great way to jump-start a blog post. Surprise yourself.

 

4 thoughts on “The Daily Post: Living Art

  1. Pingback: DAILY PROMPT: Living Art | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  2. Pingback: Life And Art | Mayur Wadhwani's Blog

  3. Pingback: I stood… Now I move | Mayur Wadhwani's Blog

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Living Art | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

Leave a Reply

