Friday Fictioneers – The Housesitter and the Fish wife

 

Copyright – Douglas M. MacIlroy

Copyright – Douglas M. MacIlroy

“So, I’m all set to go. You’re sure you going to be okay?”

“Yeah.”

“Great, so here are the keys and don’t forget to feed the fish.”

“Sure”

Two hours later. The phone rings.

“I forgot to tell you, you have to tickle them.”

“Tickle who?”

“The fish. And Osaka likes to have his nose rubbed.”

“Osaka?”

“The big black one.”

Two hours later.

“Hi! Please remember to sing to them.”

“To who?”

Deep sigh, “The fish.”

“Any song in particular?”

“They like Underwater Love from Pearl Jam.”

Two hours later. Voicemail.

“Hi, me again. I can’t get hold of you! Call me as soon as you get this. I have to talk to the fish. They’ll start pining if they don’t hear my voice. Then they’ll die and… Message has exceeded time limit.”

It’s Friday Fictioneers time again. Please have a visit to see today’s offerings. Just click here. 

24 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – The Housesitter and the Fish wife

  1. This was an awesome take on the prompt. My favorite line was the need for tickling. While I’ve touched a fish’s tender parts, it was never done to elicit a giggle. Next time I go to the Asian Market, I’ll view the fish there with new eyes.

Leave a Reply

