Friday Fictioneers: Echo

Copyright – Dawn M. Miller

Copyright – Dawn M. Miller

My bags at my feet I stand silent and still. A statue among the chaos.

People have somewhere to go, somewhere to be, someone waiting.

All moving, talking, a dance hall step and slide to avoid touch.

A smile, a wave, a connection made and broken. Journeys begun and ended.

A pickpocket moves with smooth grace lifting wallets for the man who holds his reins around the corner.

No-one sees him either.

I wait, an echo in the periphery of vision. I am still here when the last train leaves.

Undecided.Unnoticed.

Nowhere to go. Nowhere to be. No one waiting.

I fell of the grid for a while there and swung a little hopelessly in the air. Now I am back and trying to find my feet again. Rochelle’s picture was an inspired choice as try to find my own direction. 

Please have a look at some of the other fabulous submissions and try your hand at one of your own. 

These are some of my favourites:

http://anelephantcant.me/2013/08/28/thieves-of-a-feather-friday-fictioneers/

http://helenahannbasquiat.wordpress.com/2013/08/28/isnt-it-ionic-friday-fictioneers/

http://weltschmerzcollection.wordpress.com/2013/08/28/friday-fictioneers/

17 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: Echo

  1. A sad portrait, and painted well. I, too, really enjoyed the “echo in the periphery of vision” amid all the comings and goings of the crowd… it describes the character in a poetic way.

Leave a Reply

