Friday Fictioneers – Honey Bee

Copyright Jennifer Pendergast

Copyright Jennifer Pendergast

When my sister-in-law asked, “Hey, could you look after my bees while I’m away?”, I thought, “Okay, how hard can it be?” Did you get that? How hard can it be. I know it’s weak, but you can’t imagine the day I’ve had.

I drove out to the back of beyond to check on the honey makers. I parked the car and I walked into some apian Jurassic Park.

These aren’t some cute little buzzers making honey for Winnie the Pooh.

Oh no, what she forgot to tell me was these things are monster bees on steroids.

Me and my Jimmy Choos ran as fast as Usain Bolt back to the relative safety of my car.

I swear they were laughing at me.

This week I was determined not to miss the starting gun. I do hope my sister-in-law won’t mind the reference to her bees. Check out the other Friday Fictioneers on Rochelle’s blog: Ā http://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/2013/07/31/2-august-2013/

52 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – Honey Bee

  1. I like the tone and style. I like: “Me and my Jimmy Choos …”. And you could have written something like: “Me and my Jimmy Choos usain-bolted”. šŸ™‚

  2. haha! I love the character you put into this piece – I can absolutely see her and her sister. They are not so alike, methinks. Is there a typo “I parked and …walk” should be parked and walked, I think. I’m still laughing at those Jimmy Choos in the mud – from the safety of my car, of course šŸ˜‰

  3. Pingback: Friday Fictioneers: Meetings and Musings | Alastair's Blog

  4. I’m trying to imagine two weird things–the size of the hive for bees of that size and Usain Bolt running in heels. šŸ™‚ Both are mind-boggling!!

    (In “it’s weak”, you need an apostrophe.)

    janet

    • That might have helped. I have to admit that this wasn’t as fictional as it could have been. My sister in law asked her dad to take care of the bees and he responded with, “She never said there were so MANY!”

  5. Dear Victoria,

    I have to wonder if her sister-in-law was insane. I’d be running, too, especially if they’re as big as the one in the photo. šŸ˜‰ Nice one.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

Leave a Reply

