Friday Fictioneers – Cloud Phobia

Copyright - Douglas M. MacIlroy

Copyright – Douglas M. MacIlroy

I’m not scared of flying per se. It’s not the flying. It’s the clouds. It’s Roald Dahl’s cloud people from James and the Giant Peach. They scare the bejesus out of me. One angry cloud man and this little tin can is going to lose the fight with gravity.

You can laugh all you like, but I know grown men afraid of swimming because they believe somewhere in their deep subconscious that Jaws is going to swallow them whole.

I don’t see a white fluffy expanse of sugar candy. I see a battlefield. So forgive me while I breathe into my paper bag.

 

I’m late. I’m late. For a very important date…

I missed Friday. So here it is. Better late than never. 

http://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/2013/07/24/26-july-2013-2/

 

10 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – Cloud Phobia

  1. Loved it! I’m sure I read James and the Giant Peach but do not remember the cloud people. Probably just as well.

      • I clicked on the link on your site and arrived at a movie page. Invariably prefer the book to the movie of it. Roald Dahl is an all round favourite. Must’ve read everything by him. His retold fairy stories are both hilarious and quite scary.

      • Two of his adult stories stick with me. The one where the wife kills the husband with a leg of lamb that she then cooks and feeds to the police and the other ghastly one where the small child visits a pig / child abattoir.

Leave a Reply

