Friday Fictioneers – Audi TT

Image

I work in one of those classy little coffee shops. No-one looks twice at the busboy, but I see them sneer at my bike. It’s okay, because I laugh at them too, in their pink lycra and fancy gear. They take themselves so seriously, these weekend Lance Armstrongs. They don’t laugh so hard when I overtake them on the road home. No gears, no iPod, no steroid juice, no shaving my legs. My old bike and me, we travel 100kms a day from the township to suburbs. She cost me 25 bucks from Bhani’s. You can call her retro, I call her my wheels, my Audi TT. 

 

– For the international readers – an Audi TT is a South African township term for a man without a car – Audi Ten Toes. 

Friday Fictioneers time again. This week’s photo comes from my friend Ndlovu at an http://anelephantcant.me. You can check out his flash fiction challenge too.  

35 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – Audi TT

  1. “no iPod, no steroid juice, no shaving my legs,” I loved the laundry list of “necessities” that aren’t really needed at all. That and the character’s moxie made this a really enjoyable piece.

  2. Another South African writer. You taught slang to a local too! I thought I was on top of all of it. Rich, rich local culture! Love it. Loved the story.

Leave a Reply

