Freedom or Safety?

Birds 3There is a curious balancing act between safety and freedom.

To have one you have to sacrifice a piece of the other.

birds 1The question is how much are you willing to give and to whom?

I posed the following question to my children…

Imagine you are a bird.

You can choose between:

  1. Life in a cage. It is safe, warm and food and water is provided for you, but you can never fly. You also do not know who is looking after you or if you can trust them to do so. They could be a benevolent father figure. They coud be Dr. Moreau.
  2. Life outside a cage. You have to find your own food and shelter. There are dangers and adventures. You can fly wherever you want to go. You safety, your future is in your own hands.

My children answered unanimously – Freedom.

lizard_comicsI am not a paranoid conspiracy theorist.

I don’t believe that the world is run by reptiles disguised as human beings.

I don’t believe in a global government controlled by the descendants of the Knights Templar.

I do think we need to look closely and carefully at the small group of men and women we have entrusted our safety and security to.

We’ve given them an enormous amount of power and trust, but do we really believe they have our best interests at heart?

Absolute power corrupts absolutely.

I found a series of quotes that were said a long time ago by one man. I won’t tell you who said them until the very end.

Read them and think carefully about what they mean for the world today.

Quote 1 Quote 2 Quote 3 Quote 4

Every day we give away a few more grains of freedom in the name of safety. Safety from enemies with no faces. Enemies we have been told are our enemies. Have we stopped to ask if they really are?

birds 2Is it worth it?

Is war and bloodshed worth lower unemployment?

Is oil worth its weight in death?

Is safety worth your freedom?

And the man who said the words above?

That would be Adolf Hitler.

10 thoughts on “Freedom or Safety?

  1. I so knew it could only be that madman who uttered these pearls of wisdom. I would know you are South African from this post by just reading it… I agree Victoria Bruce. The problem is that in our country the people don’t vote for people – they vote for an ideology despite a pathetic track record.

  2. I go through entire periods where I live the life of an ostrich with my head in the sand, just to avoid hearing the worst of humanity. If that makes me a coward, darling, then so be it, by my heart can only handle so much.
    I often wonder if people weren’t a lot happier being blissfully unaware of the atrocities going on around the world. Tragedies used to be personal, or community related, and you grieved with your friends and neighbours at the loss of a loved one. Now you can turn on the television or open your web browser and share in the collective grief of billions. It’s overwhelming, and I don’t know that the human psyche was meant to bear it.

    • I have to agree. Sometimes, most of the time, I am the ostrich and I am happier that way. I can cope. Sadly as we wait for Mandela to pass, the reality of what might happen as the conscience of my continent dies, is becoming truly terrifying.

      • One can only hope that his legacy remains, and that people don’t forget what he fought and was imprisoned for. Those who don’t learn the lessons of history are doomed to repeat them, so they say.
        I had to repeat grade 10 history once. That was enough for me 😉

Leave a Reply

