Friday Fictioneers – The girl in the corner

Copyright Ted Strutz

Copyright Ted Strutz

She sits in the corner, half hidden in the shadows. Almost invisible among the colours and shapes and the noise. No-one sees her there. Our glances seem to slide off her embarrassed to have caught a glimpse of her desolation. She blends chameleon-like into the painting behind. I wonder if she didn’t step from that bright world into this drab one and cannot find her way home. To her we must look the same. Lost souls looking for redemption at the bottom of a bottle. Trying not to be seen.

24 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – The girl in the corner

  1. I thought this was very good. There are some very evocative lines “Our glances seem to slide off her embarrassed …” And “Lost souls looking for redemption…” But I find myself wondering if it’s just not a little too short. I want to know more about her.

    • Thanks so much. I am really enjoying this Friday Fictioneers thing. I even looked back on the stories I Started writing and then abandoned. Reading them now, they weren’t so bad. Sometime I must get around to finishing them off.

      • I think we all do that. I have a ton of blogs I never blogged. But I do look back on ones I did and think “OMG is that how I was that day” 🙂
        My last blog there will get people talking lol

        x

  2. You write as if she’s somehow apart from those “lost souls” but I wonder if she is not a cautionary tale to those at the bar as to what one becomes after years of drowning their sorrows — merely part of the scenery. Well done, darling!

Leave a Reply

