Friday Fictioneers – My world

Copyright -Kent Bonham

Copyright -Kent Bonham

I live in a fairytale. In a world where make-believe comes true. There are mirrors on the wall that see past your face and into the very depths of your soul. There is no hiding here, not from your deepest desires, your secrets or your past. There are witches who soar from their tiny balconies on broomsticks made from branches of rowan picked under a full moon. There are dragons on the roof and unicorns in the garden. Fairies who laugh like tiny tinkling bells who keep me up at night. And there is me. This is my home too.

Join Friday Fictioneers

 

67 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – My world

  1. Wonderful job creating “a world where make-believe comes true.” I really enjoyed the details. Your narrators detailed knowledge of witching ways made me wonder about their background, but then again he/she knows about the mirrors too. Hmm. I’m very curious now.

  2. I’d definitely love to read more of this! I can imagine so many great stories coming out of this place, like a group of magical misfits. Hope you’ll continue!

  3. This one really fits the otherworldly look of the photo! And your story leaves me wondering what strange traits “me” might have, if she fits in with the witches and dragons and fairies. πŸ˜‰

  4. Is it the fact that I just came off of Sandra’s ominous story or the tag line over the child’s tea party at the top of the page (It’s the crazy things that make us think, laugh and scream in the dark) that has me reading this story as sinister and creepy? I think so because now that I’ve gone back and read it again it’s wonderfully magical. Though I am really wanting to hear what comes after then there’s me….

  5. No like button? (sorry, I always make a point of moaning when I can’t find a like button!). Lovely dreamy tale – maybe one of those unicorns whisked away the like button. That would explain it!

  6. I love the matter-of-fact nature of the first person narrative. Not even a sense of wonder, just a sense that all those things should be and are “normal.” Makes you want a “home” just like it!

  7. I especially liked the line about the rowan. That was especially vivid for me.

    If you are the house keeper there, be careful what you sweep with πŸ™‚

  8. Very picturesque…to imagine everyone living there altogether. So different, yet sharing home under the same roof. All of them and…you! The good, old fairy tales… πŸ™‚

  9. What a wonderful place to live, where fantasy resides in every nook and cranny. I’d say it’s the kind of place I would have loved as a child, but even now that would awesome.

Leave a Reply

