D.E.A.R. 2013

I loved Beverlty Cleary as a kid. Ramona was awesome. I had quite forgotten about some of the books I loved and am determined to track some of these down for my lot.

Library Mom

dear-logo

Today is children’s author Beverly Cleary’s birthday, and it is also D.E.A.R. (Drop Everything And Read) Day! I used to love her work, especially Dear Mr. Henshaw. According to the D.E.A.R. website, “It is a national month-long celebration of reading designed to remind folks of all ages to make reading a priority activity in their lives. Beverly Cleary first wrote about D.E.A.R. in Ramona Quimby, Age 8.” I did write about this last year in this post, but here is the link for D.E.A.R.’s favorite book list. Out of their list, I would personally recommend:

  • Are You My Mother? by P.D. Eastman

In the Night Kitchen - Mickey and the Bakers

  • In the Night Kitchen by Maurice Sendak (one of my favorite kid’s books)
  • “More, More, More,” Said the Baby by Vera B. Williams
  • Days with Frog and Toad by Arnold Lobel

Martina the Beautiful Cockroach

  • Martina the Beautiful Cockroach: A Cuban Folktale by Carmen Deedy (illustration above)
  • The True…

View original post 168 more words

2 thoughts on “D.E.A.R. 2013

Leave a Reply

