Waiting

 mirror

“I’m going out,” you say

Like you’ve done before

“I’ll see you later” you say

I’ve heard that before

And the door slams

And the engine starts

And you drive away

Into the night

Into a world I know nothing of

Where I have no place

Where I am not welcome

Into a world that takes everything pure and good and whole

And warps and distorts it in a hallway of Carnival mirrors

Until no semblance of the truth remains

The bed is cold

Where I sleep

On the one side

Because the other is yours

But you won’t sleep there

Not tonight

But I’ll wait up

Just in case

Just in case

You change your mind

Published by

victoriabruce

I write because I have to. It is a compulsion. I do it to vent, to laugh and to remember. I blog because it has been so long since I had to write with a pen that my hand would go into cramp if I tried to write a journal.

2 thoughts on “Waiting”

Leave a comment