Do I really want to know?

eye

Do I really want to know?

Or just keep my eyes closed

And choke on the questions

 

Do I really want to know?

When the answers will shatter

Every window in my world

 

Do I really want to know?

The truth

 

I don’t know

 

Maybe the nightmares

Are better

Maybe the pain

Is less

 

When you have nothing left

To lose or to give

Does it even matter?

Which end of the rope

You tie into the loop

You place so gently around my neck

And tighten

Until there’s no space left to breathe

No voice left to call out for help

No tears left to cry

No helpful arrow

Pointing to the door

No way out

 

How you could you leave me here?

In the dark

All alone

And turn your head

And just walk away

 

If I’d kept my mouth shut

Or closed my eyes

Could we have pretended for a little longer

That everything was perfect

Is this what you wanted?

To watch me break

Does it make you happy?

To know you’ve destroyed

The best part of me

And left me nothing

To salvage

To rebuild

 

Treading water

Counting sheep

Holding on

Hoping for a rescue

A white knight on charger

And a golden sunset

And a happy ever after

 

More fool me

No, more fool you

One thought on “Do I really want to know?

  1. There once was a time when hands were held

    reading

    There once was a place in which to laugh

    reading

    There once was a time for life

    reading

    There once was a time for love

    reading

    There was hope

    reading

    There was trust

    reading

    reading

    Not causative

    reading

    But correlative

    reading
    ……………………………….

Leave a Reply

