The 30 Day Challenge

The 30 Day Challenge

I friend of mine set herself a challenge. To create in the same medium an alphabet of fruit and vegetables in 30 days. Bet you don’t know the X option! Point being that art doesn’t have to cost an arm and a leg.

From Mobijo:

Finish something I have started! The 30 Day challenge #1 begins…

Ok. I have promised myself that I am going to finish everything I start this year. I am a complete flake when it comes to this so I know I am asking a lot of myself.

I have decided to draw an alphabet of fruit and vegetables. I don’t know what I am going to do when I get to ‘X’, but I am not going to do it alphabetically, because then I feel pressured to draw something I don’t really feel like drawing. I started with ‘P’ and drew a pear, and this morning, I drew an apple. Being a person that gets bored so easily, especially with drawing styles, I am really challenging myself.

My challenge:
1. Draw an entire alphabet of fruit and vegetables, A–Z
2. Stick to the same drawing style throughout
3. Use the same set of cheap watercolour paints for each drawing
4. Complete all 26, with a full time job, two kids and a kitten, by 26 March 2012. This gives me +- 1 month to complete.

I am calling it Mobijo’s 30 day challenge, and after 25 March 2012, I am going to give myself another 30 day challenge, something completely different.

30 Day challenge—complete!

These are all the alphabet drawings together. The ink pen is still going, the watercolours are looking very tired, and I am completely out of brown, but they went the mile, proof that you needn’t spend too much money on expensive equipment.

Prices
Watercolour set of 12 colours: $4.00 (NZ)
Ink Pen, 0.3mm waterproof:   $4.99 (NZ)
Board book, 50 leaf, A5:         $2.00 (NZ)
Paint brush: (only one used):   $3.40 (NZ)

Total cost of alphabet         $14.39 (NZ)
Time spent: 30 Days (plus a day or 3 in February if I must be brutally honest!) Obviously, time is money and I have not taken this into account, but truthfully, I enjoyed every minute of this challenge and cannot wait to do another one!

 

One thought on “The 30 Day Challenge

Leave a Reply

