The Mad Hatter

Image

Probably a good description of me this morning. Of course I only woke up to the Mad Hatter’s Tea Party for Small girl aged 6’s school this morning.

Unruffled, well only mildly ruffled, I turned to Facebook for help in finding a straw hat to decorate. Within minutes Shelli Nurcombe-Thorne from www.joburg.co.za came through as she always does.

ImageI sheparded two children into the car and set off for downtown Johannesburg, where princesses from Sandton suburbia fear to tread.

Of course the Garmin malfunctioned so we went on a scenic tour of some of the city’s less salubrious spots before ending up at Hat City.

What a fantastic place. Hats of all shapes and sizes, decorated and not, top hats, beanies, star hats and wedding hats galore. The Queen Mum would have loved it.

SmaImagell girl found something meeting her exacting standards, Small boy aged 7 found a leather cap with a tiger on it and we all found a beautiful summer hat for my glorious mother who is celebrating her 70th birthday on this St Patrick’s Day.

I am now sorely tempted to try make my own hats, as you can buy brims and heads too.

I feel a phase coming on, but not to worry, I usually get through them pretty quickly.

I was expecting our haul to put a dent in my beleaguered bank balance, but even had to ask if there was a mistake when he totted up exactly R60 for our purchases. That’s less than $6.

Now all I need to do is rustle up the leftover Christmas ribbon and we can set off to the Mad Hatter’s Party and everyone will think I am a fabulous mom.

Yippee!

2 thoughts on “The Mad Hatter

  1. Pingback: The RabbitHole called Facebook | Madeline Scribes

  2. Pingback: The RabbitHole called Facebook | Spread Information

Leave a Reply

